commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

National Capital Commission. This commission, successor to the Federal District Commission, is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3), proclaimed February 6, 1959. Headed by a chairman, it is made up of 20 members, representing the 10 provinces and the National Capital Region.

The commission is responsible for the acquisition, development and maintenance of public land in the National Capital Region; it cooperates with municipalities by providing planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects of benefit to the region; and it advises the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 1,800-sq mile (4662 km²) National Capital Region. The commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of State for Urban Affairs.

National Council of Welfare. The council is an advisory body of 21 private citizens, encompassing a variety of welfare-related interests. Its members include past and present welfare recipients and low-income citizens active in welfare rights, public housing tenants' and other low-income citizens' groups, social workers and others involved in social service associations, private welfare agencies and social work education. The council advises the Minister of National Health and Welfare on matters related to welfare. The Office of the National Council of Welfare carries out research and other support activities for the council and performs a liaison role with a variety of organizations across Canada involved in social welfare and social policy issues.

National Design Council. The council was established by an act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The council makes recommendations on design policies and the planning of programs for the furtherance of design in Canada to be implemented under the direction of the council by departments and agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies. Programs formally carried out by the council are identified under the title of "Design Canada". The council has 17 members appointed by the Governor in Council and reports through its chairman to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

National Energy Board. This board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6) to assure the best use of energy resources in Canada. The board, composed of nine members, is responsible for regulating the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and oil, the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which power is exported or imported. Under the Petroleum Administration Act, 1975, Part I, the board administers the export charge on crude oil and certain refined petroleum products, and under Part III of the act, administers on behalf of the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources, the pricing of natural gas entering interprovincial and international trade.

The board is required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend measures it considers necessary and advisable. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. Established in 1972 under the National Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65), the council consults with producers, commodity boards, and provincial and federal governments and coordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry.

The council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, two full-time and five part-time members appointed by the Governor in Council and is directly responsible to the Minister of Agriculture. Council headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members — a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is chairman of the board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. It is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations". The board is responsible for the production and processing of films for government departments. Its head office is in Ottawa and its operational headquarters in Montreal.